Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.

Delegate Ryan Spiegel

Spiegel, Ryan
Committee Assignment(s)
Appropriations Committee
Annapolis Info
223 Lowe House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3792 | 301-858-3792
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3792
Interim Info
223 Lowe House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3792 | 301-858-3792
District 17
Spiegel, Ryan
Member of the Maryland House of Delegates since July 6, 2023.
Current Assignments
2023 Committee on Appropriations
2023 Public Safety and Administration Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee
2023 Oversight Committee on Pensions of the Appropriations Committee
2024 Maryland Legislative Jewish Caucus
2024 Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus
Public Service
Gaithersburg City Council (Vice President, 2012, 2015, 2018 "Dean" of City Council, 2021-2023), 2007-2023; Maryland Municipal League; President, 2019-2020; Board of Directors, 2016-2021; Legislative Committee Chair, 2017-2018; Montgomery Chapter President, 2015-2017; Chapter Vice President, 2012-2015; Chapter Executive Board, 2010-2018, 2010-2021; Maryland Municipal League, Opioid Settlement Task Force, 2021; National Judge Advocate, Navy League of the United States, 2017-2018; Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, Board of Directors, 2016-2017; Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, Metropolitan Development Policy Committee Alternate, 2008-2023; Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board Alternate, 2008-2023; National League of Cities, Transportation Infrastructure & Services Policy and Advocacy Committee, 2009-2016; Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, Climate, Energy & Environment Policy Committee, 2010-2023; Youth Achieve, Inc., Board of Directors, 2007-2014; City of Gaithersburg Educational Enrichment Committee, 2006-2007; American Constitution Society, Maryland State Lead for "Path to the Bench" Program; Friends of Wells/Robertson House, Inc., President and Treasurer, 2022-2023; Victim Services Advisory Board of Montgomery County (Chairman, 2005-2006; Vice-Chair, 2004-2005), 2003-2006.
Chair, Democratic Municipal Officials, 2022-2023; University of Maryland Hillel, Board of Directors, 2007-2009; Omicron Delta Kappy Honor Society, Board of Directors, 2000-2002; Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity, 1999-2000; Maryland State Bar Association; Bar Association of Montgomery County; District of Columbia Bar Association.
MML Lifetime Achievement Award, 2023; Best Lawyers in America, 2021, 2022, 2023; The Legal 500, Recommended Attorney, 2022, 2023; Key to the City, Town of Ocean City, 2021; The Daily Record, "VIP List" (Maryland professionals successful by age 40), 2018; Law 360 Rising Stars, 2017; Super Lawyers Rising Star, Maryland and D.C., 2015, 2016, 2017; Martindale-Hubbell AV Preeminent rating for "Highest Level of Professional Excellence" and "High Ethical Standing"; Maryland Politics Watch top ten "Young Guns" of Montgomery politics, 2009; Outstanding Achievement Award, Washington Lawyers Committee, Immigrant and Refugee Rights, 2005; Winston & Strawn Commitment to Justice Award, 2004; Lawrason Driscoll Moot Court Award, Stanford Law School, 2003; University of Maryland Model Citizen Award, 2003; University of Maryland Banneker-Key Scholar, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000.
Biographical Information
Born July 6, 1978; Pikesville High School, Pikesville, Maryland 1996; UMBC Governor's Summer Internship Program, 1999; University of Maryland, B.A., Journalism (Honors), 2000; Stanford University School of Law, J.D., 2003; University of Maryland, Academy for Excellence in Local Governance, Graduate Fellow, 2008-2011; Intern, WMAR-TV Newsroom, 1998; Intern, U.S. Senator Ben Cardin, 2000; Summer clerk/intern, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, 2001; Extern to the Legal Counselor of the United States, U.S. Embassy, The Hague, 2002; Intern, Brennan Center for Justice, 2002; Gaithersburg City Council Member, 2007-2023 ("Dean", 2021-2023; Vice President, 2012, 2015,2018); Senior Associate, Winston & Strawn, LLP, 2003-2012; Partner and Practice Group Chair, Paley Rothman, 2013-2021; Partner, Thompson Hine, LLP, 2021-Present; Married; two children.
Last Updated: 5/23/2024 4:38 PM
Click to return on the top page