Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Senator James N. Robey

Robey, James N.
Committee Assignment(s)
Annapolis Info
120 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3572 | 301-858-3572
Toll-free in MD
Interim Info
120 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
District 13
Robey, James N.
First elected to the Senate in 2006. Member of the Senate since 2007.
Current Assignments
2013- Majority Leader
2007- Budget and Taxation Committee
2011- Chair, Health and Human Services Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee (Member, 2007-)
2008- Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2008- Senate Chair, Joint Advisory Committee on Legislative Data Systems (Member, 2007-)
2008- Joint Committee on Pensions
2012- Senate Special Committee on Ethics Reform
2008- Chair, Senate Select Committee No. 5, Howard County
Past Senate Service
Assistant Deputy Majority Leader, 2008-2013; Chair, Standing Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting, 2011-2012; Public Safety, Transportation and Environment Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 2008-2011; Vice Chair, Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 2008-2010; Deputy Majority Whip, 2007.
Public Service
Health Care Reform Coordinating Council (Health Care Delivery Reform Subcommittee), 2011-; Howard County School Board Study Commission, 2011; Commission to Study the Feasibility of Establishing a Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial, 2009-2010; Blue Ribbon Commission to Study Retiree Health-Care Funding Options, 2007-2009; Maryland Commission on Capital Punishment, 2008; Public Safety Communications Interoperability Governance Workgroup, 2003-2006; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2000-2006; Howard County Executive, 1998-2006; Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 1998-2006; Commission for the Accreditation of Law Enforcement Agencies, 2003-; Chair, Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 2002; Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2000.
National Conference of State Legislatures, Communications, Financial Services and Interstate Commerce Committee, 2007-; Board of Directors, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore, 2006; President, Maryland Association of Counties (Board of Directors, 2002, Legislative Committee), 2006; Board of Visitors, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 1998-; National Association of Counties (Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee).
Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League , 2007-2010; Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties , 2010; Maryland Tourism Advocate Award, Maryland Tourism Council , 2009; Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League , 2008-2009; Regional Visionary Award, Greater Baltimore Committee , 2005; Senator James Clark, Jr. Award, Howard County Democratic Central Committee , 2002; Preservationist of the Year, Preservation Howard County , 2002; Frank P. Casula Transit Award, Corridor Transportation Corp. , 2002; Distinguished Alumnus, University College, University of Maryland , 2002; Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary Foundation of Rotary International , 2002; Good Scout Award, Baltimore Area Council, Boy Scouts of America , 2001.
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, January 18, 1941, Raised, Daniels, Maryland; Howard High School, 1959; University College, University of Maryland, B.A., Criminal Justice, 1979; Hood College, M.A., Administration and Management, 1984; National Academy, Federal Bureau of Investigation; Senior Management Institute for Police and Leadership, Police Executive Research Forum, Howard County; Maryland Air National Guard, 1963-1969; Chief of Police, Howard County, 1991-1998; Police Officer, Howard County, 1966-1991; Married, Two children.
Last Updated: 10/15/2019 3:26 PM
Click to return on the top page