Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Senator Ulysses Currie

Currie, Ulysses
Prince George's
Committee Assignment(s)
Annapolis Info
201 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 301-858-3127
Toll-free in MD
Interim Info
201 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
District 25
Currie, Ulysses
First elected to the Senate in 1994. Member of the Senate since 1995.
Current Assignments
1995- Budget and Taxation Committee
1995- Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2011- Education, Business, and Administration Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
1995- Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, Inc.
Past Senate Service
Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 2000-2013, 2000-2012; Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County, and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-2012; Joint Information and Biotechnology Committee, 2009-2012; Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 2007-2012; Joint Audit Committee, 2003-2012; Executive Nominations Committee, 2003-2012; Chair, Budget and Taxation Committee, 2002-2012; Legislative Policy Committee, 2002-2012; Management Subcommittee of the Legislative Policy Committee, 2002-2012; Spending Affordability Committee, 2001-2012; Rules Committee, 1999-2012; Chair, Spending Affordability Committee, 2007-2010; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2009, 2000-2008; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2007, 2003, 2002; Special Committee on State Employee Rights and Protections, 2005-2007; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 1999-2006; Senate Special Commission on Medical Malpractice Liability Insurance, 2004; Chair, Special Committee on Legislative Prayer, 2003; Chair, Public Safety, Transportation, and Environment Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 2001-2002; Senate Committee on Redistricting, 2001-2002; Deputy Majority Whip, 1999-2002; Co-Chair, Special Committee on Gaming, 2001; Chair, Rules Committee, 1999-2000; Chair, Prince George’s County Delegation, 1997-2000; Senate Chair, Joint Audit Committee, 1997-2000; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 1996-2000; Senate Chair, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 1995-2000; Assistant Deputy Majority Whip, 1996-1998; Joint Committee to Study Mandates on Local Government, 1995-1997.
Past House Service 1987-1995
Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 1992-1994; Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 1991-1994; Joint Budget and Audit Committee, 1991-1994; Legislative Policy Committee, 1991-1994; Majority Whip, 1991-1994; Appropriations Committee (Vice Chair, Human Resources and Public Safety Subcommittee), 1990-1994; Ways and Means Committee, 1987-1989.
Public Service
College Success Task Force, P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, 2009-2010; Commission to Develop the Maryland Model for Funding Higher Education, 2006-2009; Fiscal Affairs and Government Operations Committee, Southern Legislative Conference, 2008-; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2001-2008; Task Force on Minority Participation in the Environmental Community, 2006-2007; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-2006; Senate Special Commission on Electric Utility Deregulation Implementation, 2005-2006; Interagency Steering Committee for Managing for Results, 2005-; Governor’s Workforce Investment Board, 2005-; Budgets and Revenue Committee, National Conference of Legislatures, 2005-; Auto Insurance Task Force to Study Rates in Urban Areas, 2005; Subcommittee on Global Best-Practices in Education, Governor’s Commission on Quality Education in Maryland, 2004-2005; Governor’s Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities, 1995-2004; Task Force to Study the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program, 2003; Transportation Task Force, 2003; Commission on Maryland’s Fiscal Structure, 2002-2003; Prince George’s Hospital System Improvement Task Force, 2002-2003; Virginia-Maryland-District of Columbia Joint Legislative Commission on Interstate Transportation, 2000-2003; Vice Chair, Redistricting Committee, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, Inc., 2001-; Co-Chair, Task Force on the Prince George’s County Transfer Tax Rate, 2000-2001; Co-Chair, Education Committee, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, Inc., 2000; Transit Policy Panel, 2000; Maryland Childcare Business Partnership, 1998-2000; Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 1996-2000; Commission on Transportation Investment, 1999; Maryland Comprehensive Transit Plan Transit Advisory Panel, 1998-1999; Chair, Task Force to Study School Construction Work-Based Learning and Apprenticeship Programs, 1998-1999; Child Care Administration Advisory Council, 1995-1998; Task Force on the Loss of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for Legal Immigrants in Maryland, 1996-1997; Task Force on Education Funding in Prince George’s County, 1995-1996; Task Force on Law Enforcement of Cabinet Council on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, 1995-1996; Governor’s Commission on Black Males, 1990-1996; National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board of Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments.
Board of Directors, Economic Development Corporation, Prince George’s County, 2008-2009; Board of Directors, Capital Area Food Bank, 2007; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2004-; Board of Directors, University of Maryland Medical System Corporation, 2003-; Association of School-Based Administrators and Supervisors of Prince George’s County, Maryland; Charter Member, Coalition for Handicapped Children; Board Member, First Generation College Bound; Mental Health Association of Prince George’s County, Inc..
Biographical Information
Born, Whiteville, North Carolina, July 10, 1937; North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State College, B.S., Social Studies and History, 1959; Served in U.S. Army, 1960-63; The American University, M..A., Education, 1968; Former School Principal, Educator, Prince George’s County, over 30 years; Married, two sons, two grandchildren.
Last Updated: 10/15/2019 3:25 PM
Click to return on the top page