Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Delegate Norman H. Conway

Conway, Norman H.
Wicomico and Worcester
Committee Assignment(s)
Annapolis Info
121 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3407
Toll-free in MD
Interim Info
121 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3407
District 38B
Conway, Norman H.
First elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 1986. Member of the House since 1987.
Current Assignments
2003- Chair, Appropriations Committee
1995- House Committee on Rules and Executive Nominations
1993- Spending Affordability Committee
2003- Legislative Policy Committee
2005- Management Subcommittee of the Legislative Policy Committee
Past House Service
Joint Legislative Workgroup to Study State, County, and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-2010; House Co-Chair, Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-2006; Vice Chair, Special Committee on Higher Education Affordability and Accessibility, 2003-2004; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 1999-2004; Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 1995-2004, 1990-1993; Public Safety and Administration Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 2003; Oversight Committee on Pensions of the Appropriations Committee, 2003; House Chair, Department of Natural Resources Special Funds Workgroup, 2002-2003; Chair, Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 1996-2003; Vice Chair, Appropriations Committee, 1995-2003; Chair, Spending Affordability Committee, 2002; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2002; Speaker's Advisory Committee on Legislative Redistricting, 2001-2002; Chair, Eastern Shore Delegation, 1997-2002; Transportation and the Environment Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 1996-2002; Chair, Wicomico County Delegation, 1995-2002; Special Committee on Rail Mergers, 1997; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-1997; Special Committee on School Enrollment Management, 1996-1997; Chair, Human Resources and Public Safety Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 1993-1994; Oversight Committee on Personnel of the Appropriations Committee, 1993; Joint Oversight Committee on Juvenile Services Initiatives, 1993; Joint Expenditure Study Group on Education and Human Resources, 1991; Ways and Means Committee, 1987-1990; Chair, Pupil Transportation Subcommittee of the Ways and Means Committee, 1987-1990; Community Colleges Subcommittee of the Ways and Means Committee, 1987-1990; House Chair, Joint Subcommittee on Education, 1989.
Public Service
College Success Task Force, P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, 2009-2010; Commission to Develop the Maryland Model for Funding Higher Education, 2007-2009; Truancy Court Workgroup, 2007-2008; Drug Treatment Court Oversight Committee, 2007-; Drug Treatment Court Commission, 2003-2006; Lower Eastern Shore Children's Center Advisory Board, 2005-; Presidential Elector, Maryland, 2004; Transportation Task Force, 2003; Advisory Board, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2002-; Commission on Education Finance, Equity, and Excellence, 1999-2002; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2001-; Governor's Task Force on Eastern Shore Economic Development, 1999-2001; Task Force to Study the Governance, Coordination, and Funding of the University System of Maryland, 1998-1999; Maryland Comprehensive Transit Plan Transit Advisory Panel, 1998-1999; Task Force on Education Funding Equity, Accountability, and Partnerships, 1997-1998; Citizens Advisory Board for Holly Center, 1992-1997; Citizens Advisory Board for Deer's Head Center, 1996-; Governor's Task Force to Reform the State Personnel Management System, 1995-1996; Governor's Volunteer Council, 1992-1994; Recreation Commission, Wicomico County, 1985-1987; President, City Council, City of Salisbury, 1982-1987; City Council, City of Salisbury, 1974-1987; Vice President, District 1, Maryland Municipal League, 1982-1986; Airport Commission, Wicomico County, 1974-1985; Legislative Advisory Council, Southern Regional Education Board.
Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-; President, Wicomico County Volunteer Firemen's Association, 1986; Democratic Central Committee, Wicomico County, 1970-1974.
Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League, 2009-2011; Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 2008; Legislator Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 1997; Firefighter of the Year, Veterans of Foreign Wars, 1986; Sears' Citizen of Year, 1976; Outstanding Young Educator, Salisbury Jaycees, 1970.
Biographical Information
Born, Salisbury, Maryland, January 11, 1942; Wicomico Senior High School, 1960; Salisbury State College, B.S., Education, 1965, M.Ed., Education Administration, 1970; Retired Educator (Teacher, Vice Principal, Principal, Pinehurst Elementary School) 1965-86; Supervisor, Chapter I Program, Wicomico County Board of Education, 1986-; Married.
Last Updated: 10/15/2019 3:25 PM
Click to return on the top page