Article - Business Occupations and Professions
(a) (1) The State Board consists of 9 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.
(2) Of the 9 members of the State Board:
(i) 6 shall be licensed master electricians; and
(ii) 3 shall be consumer members.
(3) Of the 6 master electrician members:
(i) 1 shall be from Baltimore City;
(ii) 1 shall be from the area that consists of Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester counties;
(iii) 1 shall be from the area that consists of Baltimore, Cecil, and Harford counties;
(iv) 1 shall be from the area that consists of Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties;
(v) 1 shall be from the area that consists of Montgomery and Prince George’s counties; and
(vi) 1 shall be from the area that consists of Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard, and Washington counties.
(4) The consumer members shall be from the State at large.
(5) A member of the State Board may not reside in the same county as another member.
(b) Each member of the State Board shall be a citizen and resident of the State.
(c) Each master electrician member of the State Board shall:
(1) hold an active State license; and
(2) be engaged actively in providing electrical services as a master electrician for at least 5 consecutive years immediately before appointment.
(d) Each consumer member of the State Board:
(1) shall be a member of the general public;
(2) may not be a licensee or otherwise be subject to regulation by the State Board;
(3) may not be required to meet the qualifications for the professional members of the State Board; and
(4) may not, within 1 year before appointment, have had a financial interest in or have received compensation from a person regulated by the State Board.
(e) While a member of the State Board, a consumer member may not:
(1) have a financial interest in or receive compensation from a person regulated by the State Board; or
(2) grade an examination given by or for the State Board.
(f) Before taking office, each appointee to the State Board shall take the oath required by Article I, § 9 of the Maryland Constitution.
(g) (1) The term of a member is 3 years and begins on July 1.
(2) The terms of members are staggered as required by the terms provided for members of the State Board on October 1, 1989.
(3) At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
(4) A member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
(5) A member may not be reappointed for more than 2 consecutive 3-year terms.
(h) (1) The Governor may remove a member for incompetence or misconduct.
(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection and subject to paragraph (4) of this subsection, a member shall be considered to have resigned if the member did not attend at least two–thirds of the Board meetings held during any consecutive 12–month period while the member was serving on the Board.
(3) The Governor may waive a member’s resignation and allow the member to continue serving if the member has been unable to attend meetings for reasons satisfactory to the Governor and the reasons are made public.
(4) In accordance with § 8–501 of the State Government Article, the chairman shall provide notice to the Governor and the Governor shall appoint a successor.