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This bill prohibits a “health care facility” from providing peritoneal dialysis or 

hemodialysis treatment services unless the individual performing the procedure is trained 

in the technique being performed. “Health care facility” includes a kidney dialysis center, 

a facility operated by the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) or a health officer, and 

a health care provider’s office. Each violation of this prohibition is subject to a civil penalty 

of up to $5,000. MDH must adopt regulations to carry out the bill. The bill takes effect 

July 1, 2021. 
   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect State operations or finances.    

  

Local Effect:  None.     

  

Small Business Effect:  None.      

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  According to the National Kidney Foundation, dialysis is a 

medical procedure that removes waste from blood and regulates blood pressure when the 

kidneys cannot. In hemodialysis, blood is pumped through an external kidney machine and 

returned to the body through tubes. In peritoneal dialysis, cleansing fluid is inserted into 

the body through a catheter, which assists the body in cleansing blood more naturally.  
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A nurse or a patient care technician generally performs dialysis treatments and is 

responsible for starting and ending each treatment and monitoring patients before, during, 

and after treatment. These individuals typically receive in-depth training prior to 

performing dialysis treatments.  

 

Licensure of Kidney Dialysis Centers in Maryland 

 

MDH’s Office of Health Care Quality (OHCQ) licenses all freestanding kidney dialysis 

centers under its regulations regarding freestanding ambulatory care facilities. A “kidney 

dialysis center” means a facility that provides hemodialysis or chronic peritoneal dialysis, 

but it does not include a center or service owned or operated by a hospital. Under these 

regulations, a kidney dialysis center must be in compliance with all applicable federal, 

State, and local laws and regulations and must also submit a Medicare certification as a 

condition of licensure. The administrator of a kidney dialysis center must ensure that the 

center has a quality assurance program.  

 

Maryland Kidney Disease Program and Fund 

 

In Maryland, there is a Kidney Disease Program and Fund (KDF), which was established 

to assist citizens with the costs of treatment for kidney disease as a payor of last resort. To 

receive funding from KDF, a person must meet medical, residency, and other nonmedical 

eligibility requirements, as established by MDH. One of these requirements is that a 

program recipient has to apply for eligibility in Medicaid and the Medicare Part B or Part D 

Program, within 60 days of notification to do so by MDH. KDF is the payor of last resort, 

which means the program may provide financial assistance to certified Maryland end-stage 

renal disease patients only after all other federal, State, and private medical insurance 

coverage has been pursued.  

 

Maryland Commission on Kidney Disease 

 

The Maryland Commission on Kidney Disease promotes quality health care in the field of 

nephrology and transplantation by certifying dialysis and transplant centers, receiving and 

resolving complaints from interested parties, and setting standards for the practice of 

chronic dialysis and transplantation that reflect new and emergent developments. The 

commission is charged with adopting physical and medical standards for the operation of 

dialysis and transplant centers. The commission may not adopt any standard that prevents 

an individual from receiving federal medical or financial aid. MDH is charged with 

promulgating regulations that implement quality of care standards adopted by the 

commission to govern nonmedical eligibility criteria for recipients and reimbursement of 

providers and recovery of KDF expenditures from recipients and third parties. 
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The commission certifies treatment centers that meet the standards it adopts for providing 

services to recipients. The commission inspects certified facilities annually. Although 

certification is voluntary, a treatment center must be certified by the commission to receive 

reimbursement from KDF. However, the commission is not in charge of KDF payments, 

the level of payment, or how payment is disbursed. Similarly, the commission has no 

jurisdiction over Medicaid or Medicare payments or standards. Treatment centers must also 

be licensed by OHCQ in order to treat patients, but this licensure is separate from 

certification.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Health; National Kidney Foundation; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 26, 2020 

Third Reader - March 15, 2020 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 15, 2020 
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Analysis by:   Amberly Holcomb  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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