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This bill prohibits the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) from collecting 

a fee for issuing a certified or abridged copy of a birth certificate to a homeless individual, 

as defined in the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act.  As proof of 

homelessness, DHMH must accept a signed written statement from a homeless services 

provider in the State that affirms that the individual is homeless and that includes the 

address to which to send the copy of the birth certificate.  A homeless individual may 

receive one copy of a birth certificate without a fee in a single transaction.  DHMH must 

adopt regulations to implement these requirements.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease minimally beginning in FY 2017 due to the 

bill’s fee provision.  A reliable estimate cannot be made, as discussed below.  Expenditures 

are not affected.   

  

Local Effect:  None.  The bill does not prohibit local health departments from setting and 

collecting fees for the issuance of birth certificates to homeless individuals. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  In Maryland, birth certificates are available in person, by 

mail, and online.  Applicants can obtain birth certificates in person, with same-day service, 

at DHMH’s Division of Vital Records in Baltimore and at all local health departments 

(except Montgomery County, Baltimore City, and Baltimore County) for individuals born 
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after 1939.  Applicants must either present a valid, unexpired, government-issued photo 

identification or two pieces of alternative documentation. 

 

Currently, a certified or abridged copy of a birth certificate may be issued only (1) on order 

of a court; (2) on request of an individual requesting his or her own birth certificate; (3) on 

request of a parent, guardian, surviving spouse, or other authorized representative of the 

individual named on the certificate; or (4) in accordance with the adoption provisions in 

Title 5, Subtitle 3A or Subtitle 4B of the Family Law Article.   

 

DHMH collects a fee of $24 to issue a copy of a birth certificate.  All fees collected by 

DHMH for this service must be transferred to the general fund.  DHMH may not collect a 

fee for a copy of a vital record issued to a current or former member of the U.S. Armed 

Forces or the surviving spouse or child of the member, if the copy will be used in 

connection with a claim for a dependent or beneficiary of the member. 

 

A local health department may set and collect its own fee for processing and issuing a birth 

certificate.  The fee may cover the administrative costs of providing the service.  From each 

fee collected, $20 must be transferred to the general fund.  A local health department must 

enter into a memorandum of understanding with DHMH that outlines the local health 

department’s fee structure.  The Maryland Association of County Health Officers 

(MACHO) advises that fees vary among local health departments, but that the highest fee 

is about $30. 

 

The definition of “homeless individual” under the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless 

Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. § 11302(a)) includes several categories of qualifying 

individuals, including an individual who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime 

residence; an individual who resides in a shelter; and an individual who will imminently 

lose housing and has no subsequent residence.   

 

Chapter 427 of 2014 established the Joint Committee on Ending Homelessness to study 

issues related to homelessness, including housing, income, health care, education, 

government support, and veterans experiencing homelessness.  The committee issued its 

interim report in December 2015.  Citing statistics from the U.S. Department of Housing 

and Urban Development, the committee reported that, in 2014, the total homeless 

population in Maryland was 7,856 individuals.  

  

State Fiscal Effect:  DHMH’s Vital Statistics Administration (VSA) advises that, in 2015, 

the Division of Vital Records issued 140,052 birth certificates.  VSA additionally estimates 

that about 2,000 birth certificates will be issued to homeless individuals each year under 

the bill and will not be subject to fees.  Based on this assumption, VSA advises that general 

fund revenues decrease by approximately $36,000 in fiscal 2017 and $48,000 annually 

thereafter.   
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The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) agrees that general fund revenues decrease 

minimally but notes that it is not clear how often or how many homeless individuals may 

request a birth certificate under the bill.  The DHMH estimate reflects more than 25% of 

the homeless population receiving a free birth certificate each year.  DLS advises that it is 

not likely that all homeless individuals who obtain their birth certificate will do so directly 

from the Division of Vital Records; some portion of them may go to their local health 

department instead and are, therefore, still  subject to payment of a fee.  (MACHO advises 

that many local health departments offer services to help homeless individuals obtain their 

birth certificates.)   

  

Regardless, the Division of Vital Records staffing needs and related funding do not change. 

 

DLS notes that Senate Bill 389/House Bill 459 (the Administration’s Fee, Surcharge and 

Tax Reduction Act of 2016) as originally introduced would, among other things, reduce 

the current fee to issue a birth certificate from $24 to $12. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 931 (Senator Zucker, et al.) - Finance. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Association of County Health Officers, Department of 

Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2016 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 25, 2016 
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Analysis by:   Sasika Subramaniam  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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